Skip to content

and then the Dongle crashed!

04/01/2011

 hama Bluetooth Adapter Nano

photo credit

It’s only when internet is taken from you that you realise just how important it is. There I was sitting and preparing lots of fun things for my 365 project, for my blog, trying to catch up on comments and visit other blogs when the wretched T Mobile dongle’s light went from blue to red and the PC froze on me.

Blood boiling, language not too good and barely refraining myself from punching the keyboard (now that would just be silly wouldn’t it?) I begrudgingly got out my T Mobile telephone and started to call the ‘Press 1 for this, press 2 for that’ and so on and so on (Why are companies still insisting on using this brain obliterating method, it is soooo annoying. Especially when the Voice tells you that if you went online you could answers more quickly…. I CAN’T GET ONLINE!!!

Anyway, half an hour chatting to ‘Paul’ I think his name was (not my Paul) and he came to the conclusion that the dongle was in need of repair and I’d have to send it in or go to my local T Mobile shop to get a repair. At this point I nearly died. ‘How long will that take?’ Panic setting in and automatically thinking of my WordPress – 1 Post a day challenge going up the wall. He was very helpful and he’s a dad too – said he might think of joining the blogging community. All this info gleaned whilst turning on and off the PC to see if any of his tips were working.

So this afternoon I am off to Bluewater to try and sort this problem out in the meantime I am using my 90 year old grandmother’s laptop with her Orange Dongle (which incidentally has a perfect clear signal) – you’ve got to give a huge round of applause to the Golden Oldies who manage to get their heads round a PC haven’t you? I mean I have trouble working our DVD machine so dread to think what I shall be like at 90.

If nothing else other than trouble this has caused at least I started the well overdue job of cataloging our photo archives, ready for Tara’s next prompt….

I’ll be back and soon I shall either steal my grandmother’s PC until T Mobile sort out my dongle, assault the shop assistants in the Bluewater shop until  they sort something out or just buy a temporary new one as I. CANNOT. LIVE. WITHOUT. INTERNET

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 04/01/2011 2:56 pm

    I am so with you on that one… I can’t deal with it when the internet is off, it drives me MAD! Well, more mad…
    Hope it’s fixed asap!

    • 04/01/2011 3:06 pm

      Thanks Marilyn…in fact, I’m late and off to Bluewater now to stamp my foot and demand until something is done!

  2. 04/01/2011 11:03 pm

    Don’t it always seem to go that you don’t what you’ve got ’til it’s gone? I feel terribly cut-off, isolated & deprived without an Internet connection

Leave a Reply

