Skip to content

Appliances Online rock!

05/01/2011

Well the nicest thing happened to me just before the New Year and it was similar to other people I follow in the blogosphere. I was contacted by a Very Nice Person from Appliances Online who had seen I a comment I had left on Nickie’s blog, I am Typecast, the day she received a jar of Nostalgia – retro sweets from them. Part jealousy on my part at her stash of Refreshers, Black Jacks, Cola Cubes and the like which took me back to the 10p tuck shop days. Do you remember them? Clutching your 10p in a sweaty little hand and staring for ages at the bounty of sweets  laid out in front of you. mmmm

Well Nickie did mention, leave a comment below and maybe you too will recieve a surprise some day. So I did. I didn’t think anything of it, I mean the blogosphere can be a fickle place, lots of promises and no follow through but what the heck, give it a go. So you can imagine my surprise when I found an email in my inbox offering me three books on how to improve writing skills, even going as far as to say if I wasn’t happy with the choice made on my behalf I could accept Amazon vouchers and choose my own!

‘Go on! Your having me on.’

I re-read the mail and decided that Ben could only have known I was interested in writing and was giving it a go IF he had visited my blog and traipsed through quite a few posts. Think of the time? Think of the patience of the poor man! Think of the headache that must have followed!

Here is a picture of the books chosen for me and very gratefully accepted I hasten to add. Stephen King, International Bestseller of zillions of books so should know what he’s talking about. In fact he was run over by a car in June 1999 and it took 6 operations to save his life and mend his body. Once able to sit up he started to write On Writing so I am sure it will hold many gems of knowledge. Bird by Bird, written by Anne Lamott and Writing Down The Bones by Natalie Goldberg which I look forward to discovering when I have the time 🙂

You know this game of pass the parcel started a while back when Ian Newbold got a washing machine from Appliances Online. I also noticed Jen at The Madhouse got a brand new fridge sent through and Josie at Sleep is for the Weak got an oven! Well I suppose it’s never too late to mention that I need a brand new kitchen, is it? No of course, that would be rude and ungrateful …

So guys? Fancy trying your luck at this pass the parcel, Jen got a fabulous coffee set over at The King and Eye, leave a comment below and if you do get contacted please link back to me as I’d love to see what you got. What are you waiting for? Comment and retweet, retwit, retwoo

PS and just in case you’re wondering where the bird comes from on the shelf well that’s my own picked up in beautiful Puglia, Italy in a town called Alberobello, you really must check it out…

22 Comments leave one →
  1. 05/01/2011 3:41 pm

    What a lovely surprise. Good for you, and good luck with the writing. X

    • 06/01/2011 3:38 pm

      Thank you and how is your writing coming on? I saw you were doing the NaNoWriMo. Hope it was succsessful

  2. 05/01/2011 3:42 pm

    Hey, that’s lovely 🙂 I’ve not heard of that SK book so I might go and have a look for that on Amazon myself now.

    I’m still holding out for a new freezer now that all the sweets have been eaten…

    • 06/01/2011 3:39 pm

      You MUST! Who can refuse a man who says in his 2nd foreward ‘This is a short book because most books about writing are filled with bullshit.’ I can’t and I devoured 60 odd pages in my first read

  3. 05/01/2011 4:04 pm

    Lucky you – it’s fab what Ben is doing, and very patient of him to find out what you would actually appreciate because after all, everyone’s different! I wouldn’t know what to do with those books – mainly because any dream of writing a novel, or writing anything worth reading, stops at my blog.

    DS games on the other hand…

  4. 05/01/2011 5:14 pm

    I have been offered coffee and they went through my blog to find the one I like, impressed me very much 🙂 Jen

    • 06/01/2011 3:41 pm

      he he hje – I know! I mentioned you in my post silly – have you drunk too much of the stuff again? xx

  5. 05/01/2011 7:49 pm

    How lovely. I’ve seen a lot of Appliances Online posts now and they do seem to be putting a lot of effort into choosing gifts. I’m now thinking about what my blog says about the things I like… they’d probably send me a philosophy book, or maybe a bottle of wine? Or maybe a really fancy camera, haha!

    • 06/01/2011 3:42 pm

      Ah a fancy camera! I would love a Flip to be honest as I’d like to capture the girls and do more vlogging

  6. 05/01/2011 7:57 pm

    That is really really nice and thoughtful.

    • 06/01/2011 3:44 pm

      It is isn’t it? I was really touched and can’t thank Appliances Online enough. Good to see you again Susie, hope you are well x

  7. 05/01/2011 9:23 pm

    You’re the first person I hear mention these Appliance people and I have to say I don’t get it but that’s sort of why I completely love them doing that!! I’m generally a huge fan of Random Acts of Kindness especially things so personal and direct as what they seem to be doing!

    By the way, I have read Stephen King’s On Writing and liked it. 🙂 Let me know your thoughts. It’s been ages since I read it and I also read it at the same time I read another writing book but if it’s the one I remember, I remember being very intrigued by his thoughts.

    • 06/01/2011 3:45 pm

      Well I read 60 odd pages back to back in my first read and I am loving it. I find it inspiring, funny, clever and interesting and I sit wishing I could write like he does. It certainly makes me want to continue

  8. 05/01/2011 9:54 pm

    Glad you got something nice Mari – hope you enjoy! I also had a visit from Ben and he donated money to one of the charities I support.

    Fab, Mich x

  9. 06/01/2011 12:21 am

    It’s fantastic when you receive something like that when you;re not expecting it – even better than Chrsitmas?

    I love the bird! Every time I go on holiday I try to bring back something memorable like that.

    • 06/01/2011 3:49 pm

      Google Alberobello, Italy and you’ll find the special place I bought it from. Tradition has it a young man makes one of these ‘whistles’ for his future wife as a present and symbol of his love, now isn’t that sweet?

      • 06/01/2011 10:28 pm

        Wow – what a beautiful place! That’s 1 for ‘the places I’d like to visit’ book I think, thanks. Very sweet yes. And, er, brave. I can’t see myself giving my dear wife a whistle anytime soon 😉

      • 07/01/2011 10:53 am

        http://ricettesalentine.blogspot.com/2010/05/alberobello-la-tradizione-dei.html They don’t necesssarily have to be birds, have a look at this one, very modern. Sadly the article is in Italian but she talks of traditions and gives examples of Sussex where once upon a time bird whistles were bricked into the fireplace to stave off evil spirits….I must read more, sounds fascinating

  10. 07/01/2011 1:40 am

    Wow!
    The Stephen King one is GREAT! I have a copy on my shelf too and it is definitely one I couldn’t put down. 🙂

  11. 17/01/2011 5:21 am

    Good article, thank you. Home and Kitchen Review

Leave a Reply

