Skip to content

N is for…Nincompoop

13/01/2011

Nincompoop – noun a fool or simpleton.

Word Origin & History

1676, nicompoop . Despite similarity [noted by Johnson] to L. legal phrase non compos mentis “insane, mentally incompetent” (1607), the connection is denied by etymologists because the earliest forms lack the second -n- . Weekley thinks first element may be a proper name, and cites Nicodemus , which he says was used in Fr. for “a fool,” or Nicholas .

 

I haven’t used that word in years and it makes me smile to say it again, apart from the fact it plays in your mouth as you say it, it takes me back to the school playground. This wasn’t an abusive word but one that was allowed to call a friend or playmate a nincompoop as it showed they were being silly, foolish and maybe even funny.

I had prepared a post on News and how watching, reading and listening to the news affects me and my daily life. The murder of Jo Yeates which when I think of her poor mother inspired lasts week post on my loss. The dreadful  flooding in Australia. Haiti, one year on and every time another soldier dies fighting for our country and world peace. These things trouble me and on a bad day I wonder what kind of world I have brought my children into? How will life be in 20 – 30 – 40 years time? Will good overcome bad? Will we or some mad Taliban have blown us into smithereens, kaput, gone forever? My verdict – too depressing to post. Trashed.

I was contemplating another post N is for Notes and how my life is made up of notes to myself, shopping lists, reminders, things I find in magazines that I want to look up when I have time. I don’t think I can live without Post its and pads of paper to write lists on 🙂

I wrote about Naughty as my little darlings seem to be getting the hang of naughty and rather too well for my liking. I have raised my voice at them a  number of times this week. I thought about it long and hard as they are not being naughty with intention to do harm or go against the rules, no that comes later in adolescence. They see – they want, they go for it. So times are tough right now with a continuous debate in progress, thank goodness we have our fun times too!

Now when people remark,'Oh aren't they adorable!' My reply is 'sometimes' 🙂

N is for Notorious nice word but I couldn’t get any further than singing Duran Duran’s song from the 80’s – not helpful but I do love a return to the 80’s whenever I can.

N is for No Money, which is a thought that occupies my thoughts constantly these days. January is hard for everyone and with prices of food, fuel and bills rising we are really feeling the pinch. We are going to have to buckle down and get on with it as best we can as I won’t be able to go to work until September (providing I find a job!) I wish I had a magic wand as I have never been so skint, even my vague student memories seem to be more flush on retrospect, mind you students don’t eat and don’t have to care for little ones!

N is for nappies – (Brit speak for diapers) and my God I am sooo done with nappies right now but my girls aren’t! Every time I mention the potty or the toilet they just say ‘No mummy!’ I pray we get there real soon.

So let me tell you what I have been getting up to, I’ve been taking pictures for my 365 project that I mentioned in my L is for Life post and I’m enjoying it. Every moment of my day I am looking and seeing and trying to capture that creativity on camera. I have even twiddled with the button on top, wrecklessly turning it to S or P. I even had a go at micro shots and this is what I came up with –  If I were an animal.

...if I were an animal I'd see the world like this

This post has been written for Jenny Matlock’s Alphabe Thursday, this week is N, pop over and see what everyone else has come up with 🙂

22 Comments leave one →
  1. 13/01/2011 3:54 pm

    What a great N post! So many Nteresting bases covered.

    In fact, I found it quite fascNating.

    😉

  2. 13/01/2011 4:35 pm

    I learned a new word, I never heard in my life Nincompoop and it’s even in my dictionary !! I certainly can use it around me, lol ! Little girls are like little boys I think there is no difference, there are kids with and without a lot of temper ! I agree I had a hard time when my son was 4 (first puberty) then 14 (second puberty) if ever he has a 3rd puberty at 50, I am not concerned anymore !

    • 14/01/2011 3:28 pm

      3rd puberty? Oh, mid life crisis that would be! They’re not so bad, we have good days and bad days to be honest. Happy to have taught a new word today 🙂

  3. Lola permalink
    13/01/2011 4:56 pm

    Such an interesting post – haven’t used the first ‘N’ word in ages! Need to go & find some targets!

    XOXO Lola:)

  4. 13/01/2011 5:29 pm

    The N word -good old fashioned nincompoop – my teachers at junior school used it often ,we called everyone a ninny- but of course there was no playground swearing in ‘ my day’ must use it more!!! good for a giggle much better than the F word don’t you think?

    • 14/01/2011 3:29 pm

      Absolutely, and great for using with children when you don’t want to offend them but make them see they’ve made a mistake

  5. 13/01/2011 5:34 pm

    Ha! I LOVE that word! I could have used it instead of NITWIT in my post! It more aptly applies to Loughner, actually.
    Your post is great!!

    • 14/01/2011 3:30 pm

      Thank you Judie, it’s ok to be a nincompoop, I am regularly so I’m told! 🙂

  6. 13/01/2011 8:00 pm

    Those girls are adorable!

  7. 13/01/2011 8:50 pm

    Oh wow! How many fabulous Ns you have there… and I LOVE Your photo!!! Very cool. Maybe I should be a bit more daring and fiddle with my S and Ps… mmh. And your girls…. gorgeous gorgeous. Know what you mean about “naughty” though. Can be quite testing!!

    Maggy

    • 14/01/2011 3:32 pm

      …ah the S’s and P’s yes I’ve fiddled with them but not sure what the ehck I’m doing to be honest, just having a go, must get a decent book at some point and really learn how to use them. Lovely to see you as always

  8. 14/01/2011 4:02 am

    I love your post. I wrote about nincompoop as well. Stop by and see me. ~Ames

    • 14/01/2011 3:32 pm

      I will, once I have all my comments replied to I’ll be over – promise

  9. 14/01/2011 5:41 am

    what interesting N’s … i was going to write on News as well, but the news has been so horribly sad lately that i just couldn’t go there.

    • 14/01/2011 3:33 pm

      You’re absolutely right of course, very depressing at the moment, much nicer to talk of nincompoops and naughtiness 🙂

  10. Pondside permalink
    15/01/2011 4:01 pm

    That is such a great word – satisfying to say!

  11. 17/01/2011 5:00 pm

    I love this word. I love this link.

    I plan to use it several times in sentences today! It is a fun word to say for sure.

    Your attitude is what will make you succeed and thrive even in spite of hardships. The world has been a harsh place it seems for so many…Sending prayers and a hug that things turn around for you soon!

    Thank for linking to Alphabe-Thursday.

    What a nifty stop today.

    A+

    PS. The last picture made me laugh!

    • 20/01/2011 4:20 pm

      Thanks Jenny, you are right and I’m glad you got a giggle visiting here 🙂

Leave a Reply

