Skip to content

Blue Monday – Don’t fall for it!

17/01/2011

Apparently thanks to this formula of dubious origins, today in 2011 is the most depressing day of the year and we are not going to succumb to it -NO!!!! We are much better than that.

Just in case you were wondering what the various letters stand for here they are – weather=W, debt=d, time since Christmas=T, time since failing our new year’s resolutions=Q, low motivational levels=M and the feeling of a need to take action=Na. ‘D’ is not defined in the release, nor are units.

Well yes,

  1. W = weather here in the south the weather is revolting this morning, grey sky and heavy rain but that’s ok, I’ll just stay indoors and get on with the ironing, the cleaning so as to free myself up should it be nice tomorrow, right?
  2. Debt? Now we are Larry Flint (skint – penniless) but thankfully we don’t have debts apart from the mortgage but loads of people have those.
  3. Christmas is over, and thank goodness for that! I need to diet and I couldn’t afford another anyway.
  4. Q, we’re starting to fail our New Year’s Resolutions already, ah, but I don’t set myself time frames and therefore I allow myself more time to accomplish the challenges I set myself. I realise I am not super human and make allowances for it and I’m easy on myself in moments of crisis.
  5. M + N, low motivation levels and the feeling and need to take action = ok, let’s wait and see what tomorrow brings. I can’t be 100% every single day, I have my off days too.

You see a certain ‘Cliff Arnell’ dreamed this up, Wikipedia thinks he was paid to do it by Public Relations agency Porter Novelli and although it may have been a bit of fun and served it’s purpose in the PR world surely we can’t all fall under that umbrella?

I think we all have our blue  moments throughout the year and we all have our tried and tested ways of dealing with those emotions, here are some of the things that I feel helpful to get me through tough times

1. Get a date in the diary to look forward to, night out with the girls, family reunion, an unheard of date night with my OH

2. Go for a long walk in a country park, wrap up warm if it’s winter and if it’s summer take food to prolong the joyful moment.

3. Contact a friend or family member you haven’t spoken to for a while, by email, phone or text.

4. Set yourself a reasonable challenge which is do-able, the feeling of having accomplished lasts for a long time after and is well worth the hard work.

5. Listen to some music you haven’t for a long time.

Oh and Mr Arnell has been commissioned by Wall’s Ice Cream to discover the happiest day of the year, in 2010 it was 18th June so any time close to Midsummer and we should be rocking and a rolling all day long, there something to look forward to!

What tactics do you use with yourself to nudge yourself out of a gloomy state? Please share them

Hand photo credit            Blue photo credit

One Comment leave one →
  1. 17/01/2011 2:58 pm

    Worst Monday?? I’m still in bed since silent Sunday.! Will wake up tomorrow and have missed it !!!

Leave a Reply

