Skip to content

O is for Ocean Liner

20/01/2011

Call me crazy, call me bonkers but I must have sailor blood in me as this baby here represents to me my dream holiday.

An Ocean Liner more commonly known as a cruise ship – a holiday at sea with every entertainment and pastime you could possibly imagine.

There hovering around the top of my’ To Do Before I Die’ list is a cruise. Not a fancy, toff, posh cruise where one has to dress up for dinner and fellow guests are studying what you’re wearing in order to place you in their scale of 1 – 10 to decide whether you fit or not. Heavens no!

I have got to see this to believe it!

I would feel so out-of-place and uncomfortable but give me a family friendly, massive ocean liner where every day the four of us can get lost in the swimming pools, cinemas, shopping malls, tennis courts, crazy golf and in the evening be entertained by the onboard crew. How good does it get?

My cruise passion was born as I watched my uncle board an ocean liner in Southampton back in the 70’s. He was going to Australia and that for me, not quite 10, conjured up such excitement, such courage that my imagination went wild. The enormous vessel was drawing me like a magnet and all I could do was ask questions and interrupt as the family said their goodbyes. I was told to pipe down for a minute whilst hugs and farewells were exchanged.

‘Where is Australia?’ I asked my parents as I watched my nan wipe tears from her eyes and as I watched grandad hold his son by the shoulders and then  shake his hand pulling him towards him and hugging him in a singular masculine movement.

‘On the other side of the world.’ At this point my brain exploded… On. The. Other. Side. Of. The. World??? Unimaginable. How cool was that? Wait till I tell them at school tomorrow that my uncle was going to the other side of the world, they would be so impressed.

Of course my uncle was one of the first ‘Gap year students’ and he returned with loads of photos and presents a long time later. I got a koala bear..a toy one of course.

Alfredo's gulet

The closest I have got to my cruise so far is a boating holiday. We boarded our gulet at Monfalcone, a harbour placed at the top of the Adriatic Sea not far from Trieste and our captain, Alfredo set sail as the sun started to descend in the warm afternoon and we head across to Umag on the Croatian coast in time for dinner. My first ‘cruise’ took us down the coast as far as the beautiful city of Rovinj stopping off at breathtaking beauty spots along the way.

Rovinj, Croatia

This was the life for me. No shoes on board, shorts, t-shirts, diving off the side when ‘parking’ in the glorious secret bays along the coast, catching your dinner fresh from the sea and smelling in sea air from morn till night. Bliss.

I would jump at the opportunity to repeat that holiday aboard the Turkish Gulet that hadn’t received its new sails in time for departure and I would also dive at any opportunity to spend time on a cruise ship, imagine being invited to review one! I’m getting excited at the thought alone.

I'm in blue to the left, My daughter in the centre my son taking a photo

So back to that dream of mine, well Thomson have a fabulous 25 night trip skirting around the Caribbean Islands on an Ocean Liner which offers Kidzone to keep the girls amused, sports and swimming pool for the other half and a Spa centre plus gym for me! That is soooo me. I assure you I would love every single second of this holiday and I am keeping my fingers crossed as one day I will go and I shall tell you all about it.

Now where did I put that nautical t shirt of mine?

This dream has been written for Jenny Matlock’s Alphabe Thursday where you can find many more O posts, go have a look.

The photos have been scanned as they were taken back in 2002!

33 Comments leave one →
  1. 20/01/2011 8:21 am

    Looks like a great passion to have. We ghave been thinking about taking to the seas! This will certainly help our decision!

  2. astrodarlings permalink
    20/01/2011 8:58 am

    It would be very relaxing to go on an oceanic cruise. Hope your wish comes true.

    • 20/01/2011 4:45 pm

      Wouldn’t it just….I have a feeling in my bones this dream will come true – I just dont’ know when 🙂 thanks for coming by

  3. Lola permalink
    20/01/2011 9:15 am

    Fantastic dream – hope it becomes reality for you one day!

    XOXO Lola:)

  4. 20/01/2011 10:57 am

    How fantastic I went on a cruise with my school around the holy lands when I was about 15 and it was amazing. But I too think it is in my blood, all of my mums family were in the navy and I love hearing their stories about where they went and what the boats were like. xx

    • 20/01/2011 4:47 pm

      I have a great grandfather who sailed around the world with his family, he immagrated from Hungary before WW2 and my dad was in the navy in his early days. Like you I love sailing – Ah ha me hearties and all that 🙂

  5. 20/01/2011 11:41 am

    aaah lovely to indulge in a little dreaming.. who knows maybe a great big holiday company will read this and send you on your way….

    Maggy x

    • 20/01/2011 4:48 pm

      Ohhh Maggy wouldn’t that just be a dream come true????? Thanks for coming by x

  6. 20/01/2011 1:14 pm

    I went on a cruise once and it was wonderful. We had the best time.

    • 20/01/2011 4:49 pm

      …and now I’m jealous! LOL I just know it would be a holiday I would adore…one day…one day 😉

  7. 20/01/2011 2:55 pm

    I love to be by the ocean, and I love to go on the boat. When I was younger, I didn’t get seasick at all..Now, it’s a different story, I spent 2 days out of 4 sick and in bed 😦

    Beautiful dream, and I would love to see it come true for you!

    • 20/01/2011 4:50 pm

      You’ll certainly hear all about it if it does come true. I don’t think you suffer so much sea sickness on such a large ship though – worth a try surely?

  8. 20/01/2011 4:10 pm

    I have done a cruise once through the Mediterranian sea, it was wonderful !! My next one will be to the Northpole, that’s my dream !

    • 20/01/2011 4:51 pm

      The Med is beautiful, also the Norwegian Fjords are on my list and the Caribbean, and anywhere really, just get me a ticket and I’ll be there 🙂

  9. 20/01/2011 5:32 pm

    Hope your dream comes true!

    =)

  10. 20/01/2011 6:30 pm

    The nearest I have come to a cruise is a week on the Norfolk Broads in a half-decker (a small 2-person sailing boat with half a deck; mainly round the edges). By day, we sailed; by night we threw the canvas over the boom and ‘camped’. It was fun, but nowhere near as exotic as a cruise.

    Thanks for your visit to my blog 🙂

    • 21/01/2011 1:14 pm

      I’d love to do the Norfolk Broads I’m just going to have to wait till the girls are a little older. There are also inifinte canals in Ireland, that must be beautiful too

  11. 20/01/2011 10:39 pm

    So, I’ve been on a couple of cruises and I have to say, it’s not something I’ll go out of my way to do again. I guess I just need more action in my vacations. I found myself anxious for the next port of call so I could get off the ship and walk around and look at stuff…

    I probably will take another cruise just because some of my friends like them and I’d do alone to be a good friend, but it isn’t something I’d do again on my own.

    You should definitely go on a cruise though and make up your own mind! And the food is fantastic and I did like lying by the pool and reading for the first hour or so…guess I don’t do “relax” very well. Maybe I should work on that.

    • 21/01/2011 1:15 pm

      That is probably it, I never get any me time and so therefore would be over the moon to just be able to sit and enjoy me for five minutes 🙂

  12. 21/01/2011 1:05 am

    That’s a great dream! I’ve been on the party ship type and the wearing formal wear type and I loved both! Although, I prefer dressing up. But it is a wonderful, carefree vacation. Hope you go soon – share photos!

    • 21/01/2011 1:16 pm

      I adore dressing up too but just wouldn’t feel comfortable ‘having’ to do it every day. That would annoy me as I hate ‘having’ to do anything

  13. 21/01/2011 3:08 am

    Mari, I get sooooo seasick! I hope your dream comes true, though. thanks for the comment on my post!!

    • 21/01/2011 1:17 pm

      Ah, poor you! Touch wood, I have never suffered and that would ruin a dream if I suddenly started, wouldn’t it?

  14. 21/01/2011 8:25 pm

    I always dreamed of doing one and finally had the opportunity in 2005. Now I can say: been there, done that. It was ok but just not my style…although I really enjoyed visiting Bermuda, the Bermuda Triangle on a glass bottom boat and getting to see all the colorful fish. Oh, and must not forget the RUM cakes!!! I guess I just felt trapped out on the ocean and knowing you couldn’t get off 🙂

    • 22/01/2011 9:50 pm

      I suppose it’s not for everyone and maybe after doing one I may think the same as you although I don’t think so as I get so excited and I just love the suspense of waiting for the next resort – it beats a coach drive that’s for sure!

  15. Liz permalink
    22/01/2011 5:39 am

    Love your Ocean Liner story! What a beautiful dream – hope it comes true! Thanks for stopping by Noexcuses and leaving a comment. I love your writing, and shall be back for more when I have more time.

  16. 22/01/2011 8:57 pm

    I love your dream! I know you’ll get to do this one day. I will start entering cruise giveaways for you…and you should, too! Maybe this will be your year!

    What an outstanding link to Alphabe-Thursday’s letter “O”.

    I really enjoyed my visit here with you. I have my fingers (and toes and eyes) crossed for you to realize this dream someday soon.

    A+

  17. 22/01/2011 10:18 pm

    oh my gosh !! love it !! ocean liners are the coolest… lets go for an around the world cruise !!

  18. 24/01/2011 2:21 pm

    Oh yes, go to the Caribbean! As a Trinidadian, I’m outlandishly biased in saying this: it’s the best part of the world.

Leave a Reply

