Skip to content

Now we are two and a half

26/01/2011

Oh yes, we have come a long, long way from 17/07/08. Now we are constantly on the move, asking questions and wanting to do things by ourselves, for a reason that mummy doesn’t understand we love taking the middle cushion off the sofa and playing in the middle bit. Our favourite TV program is still Peppa Pig but a very close second is Show Me, Show Me from Cbeebies and Mr Tumble who is also teaching us a little bit of sign language too.

I am amazed at just how much they are picking up from their favourite television characters, their speech has vastly improved as has balancing, hopping, jumping, skipping, whatever activity they are demostrating on Show Me, Show Me.

The girls can now identify most colours, they are excellent at identifying pictures and one game we play at Talking Tots is to put a picture of an object in the correct place, ie. tree in the garden, toothbrush in the bathroom. Only a few weeks back they didn’t have the concentration or interest to sit down and play the game but I have noticed in the past two sessions that they are starting to enjoy this game too.

Dressing themselves – still a no, sometimes a sock and wellie boots are easy but frequently on the wrong feet. The rest will take a little longer to learn. Last weekend we pulled out the ‘Big Girl’s Knickers’ for the second time after a failed attempt last September. Peppa Pig on the front and lovely pastel colours were NOT going to tempt these two in giving up their nappies. But we took them off regardless and after a while the girls played quite happily in their knickers, however we didn’t catch any wees in the potties and got through 6 pairs of knickers in a few hours. I am going to try again and make this a daily appointment in the hope that sooner or later we will catch the wee and the removal of the nappy won’t be so frightening to them.

I’ve noticed that sometimes whilst playing they can get really frustrated. Watching them I see what they are trying to do (or can guess) but physically they’re not able and this is where the anger sets in. I usually have to jump in and assist.

The girls are no longer sleeping in the afternoons which has made for an autumn of ratty evenings as by the time teatime is coming around they are exhausted and don’t want to eat, I have counteracted this by giving afternoon snacks of fruit, juice and sometimes biscuits as a treat. We can however rely on a 7.30pm bedtime and lights out. they will then sleep through till 7.30am even 8.oo on occasion. Brilliant!

We must have been through another recent growth spurt as last year’s t-shirts and trousers that were still good to wear all of a sudden look short and small, on the one hand I love this fact that they are growing on the other it makes me want to stop time and cherish them just a little bit longer.

They are good at ‘helping’ now. Determined to ‘help’ mummy whilst we get the house ready and cleaned I have to find double jobs for them to do as well. But following simple orders, ‘Can you put that in the bin for me please?’ makes them very pleased with themselves and they are so eager to do these tasks it’s really cute.

We don’t have the luxury of two sessions of playschool per week which means I try to do a bit of craft with them myself, but I’m not a good mum here, I can’t stand the mess that comes with Playdough as it ends up in tiny bits all over the floor, the crayons after a while all get tipped out of the box again and again and glue…let’s not go there. I really have to get my act together and find a way to make this happen for them. I’d also like to get them cooking biscuits one day but first I need aprons!!!

An excellent Christmas gift where they learn to balance - hours of fun

Living by the rules – we have had to start introducing their first rules! Before I go any further I’d like to say in their defence that they are really good girls and nearly all of the time are as good as gold but you know how it is, I can turn my back just a few minutes and I can hear them arguing over a toy until one breaks out into tears and I hear ‘Naughty Alice/ Bessie!’ which at least tells me whodunnit. Sometimes they may have the devil in them and whilst we are patiently doing puzzles one will start throwing the pieces around the room, so annoying! So rules have been introduced where needed.

I count myself as lucky, they are good, easy to look after and although sometimes I yearn for five minutes peace I know I shall miss them dreadfully when they start pre-school in September.

I’m including this post in Tara’s, The Gallery whose prompt this week was children, I’m sure you’ll find some gorgeous images from the participants as there are some excellent photographers. I’m also going to include this post in the next Multiple Mayhem Carnival over at Two Became Four on the 7th February

12 Comments leave one →
  1. 26/01/2011 9:40 am

    Two at two is twice as cute!

  2. 26/01/2011 11:49 am

    Laughed out loud at the potty one, so cute 😀 They are lovely little girls 🙂 Jen

  3. 26/01/2011 2:22 pm

    how gorgeous are they?! my mum always says every family should have a two year old 🙂
    good luck with the potty training!

    • 27/01/2011 4:34 pm

      Thanks for the GL – I need it 🙂 Love your mum’s saying and can agree with ehr as theya re so much fun!

  4. 26/01/2011 3:52 pm

    OMG they are soooo cute!!! Great photos x

  5. 26/01/2011 8:14 pm

    What cute photos showing hw much they are growing up! I laughed at the potty one.

    • 27/01/2011 4:44 pm

      It is cute the potty one isn’t it? I worried about putting it online though, you know with madmen around and all that. I should put a signature on them I suppose…another thing to add to my To Do list!

  6. 27/01/2011 7:30 pm

    JDaniel has just started to be interesting in using the potty. He doesn’t really care to wear brief ever he tell me.

    I don’t get why they don’t want to get in the tub and don’t want to get out.

  7. 28/01/2011 10:49 pm

    I really enjoyed reading your post. They change so fast and there are so many special moments, it’s lovely to stand back and take stock of everything occasionally. Craft – if you don’t like it, don’t do it! Don’t feel guilty. We used to do loads but now that the baby wants into everything it’s difficult – as soon as I turn my back he’s eating the crayons! My 2 year old’s biggest obsession is jigsaws, also tricky with baby around (“CHARLES-BABA, don’t touch my jigsaws! He’s got my jigsaw in he mouth!”) so if we do get time when baby’s asleep, it’s jigsaws that come out – the paint seems to stay in the box these days.

Leave a Reply

