Skip to content

Post a Day 2011

28/01/2011

At the beginning of January I signed up for this thinking it would be great motivation. I was brimming with ideas and energy and so far till now I have almost succeeded in posting every single day and that is good but the trouble is by participating in something like this every thing else gets swept aside. Once I have written a post, commented on my comments and re-visited (time permitting) those lovely bloggers who take time to comment I’m done with the PC for the day. The girls are itching to go outside and play and other activities come into play ie ironing, tidying, hoovering. You get the picture!

Plus the fact I have no more time for my writing, which I have to keep reminding myself is why I am here in the first place. I want to sit down and write for a couple of hours solid and with this postaday challenge I can’t.

Do you find that sometimes what may seem like a bright idea initially after a while you discover isn’t so bright after all? I do all of the time. That is why I refrained from declaring my New Year’s Resolutions loud and clear because quite simply I know that as I go along, I see things differently, challenges go up and down my scale of importance – my diet for example is rapidly bombing out as we speak ‘Mayday! Mayday!’ now it’s Friday evening and there’s wine chilling in the fridge, watch how it’ll rocket up to first position on Monday morning!

So? What’s to do then? Well one of my ideas for this year was to write on all the places I know and have visited in Italy. I adore the place and want to share my tips on what to order to eat where, what to see and what to do all over the Beautiful Boot. Doing this Postaday2011 theme hasn’t allowed me to concentrate properly as Italy is a more in-depth post.

Result? Postaday will be dropped. I will still tag when I post but it’s not going to be paramount to my blog. I shall continue with both photography posts The Gallery and Silent Sunday as I enjoy them and meet so many other great bloggers who inspire me every week. I shall continue with Alphabe Thursday as I’m at letter Q this week – Questions, questions! And then I’ll see what happens from there.

Just sharing my thoughts and wishing you all a wonderful weekend.

Photo credit

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 28/01/2011 10:36 pm

    I’m totally with you on it all being so time-consuming! I’m focussing on just reading blogs tonight, but I’ve been at it for an hour and a half and have only looked at about six! I could happily add an extra day to the week just for reading blogs – my mind gets close to exploding when I think about how many great blogs are out there that I haven’t even discovered, let alone all the ones I have and want to read!

    And I’ve just seen you’re doing 365 photos too (I’ve subscribed to the RSS – some of the photos are fab!) – no wonder you’re feeling the pressure! There’s no point in doing one of these things if you’re not enjoying it, though. I’ve started a daily thing myself, where I post three beautiful things each day – I wasn’t sure if I’d stick with it (and started it quietly just in case) but actually I really like it, as it means I notice the beautiful little moments in my days. But I won’t carry on if it starts to feel like a chore, as what would be the point?

  2. 29/01/2011 4:42 am

    Get writing on Italy!! I can’t wait to read about the places you’ve seen – so I can then go there :))

  3. 08/02/2011 9:09 am

    It is time-consuming isn’t it?

    I don’t know if you saw my sort-of New Year’s Resolutions post http://whiskeyforaftershave.com/2011/01/04/i-am-resolved/ but 1 of my aims was to focus more on blogging: posting & reading. I have, nearly managing a post a day in January although I wasn’t aiming for that, & reading & subscribing to other blogs.

    It’s been great, but it’s virtually all I’ve done with any personal spare time I have!

    I’m still going, but I’m going to have to be more selective in future.

    Incidentally, that’s why I’m commenting on an older post: I’m trying to catch up on blogs I’ve subscribed to!

Leave a Reply

