Skip to content

My Italy

31/01/2011

 Holidays are the kind of thing I enjoy thinking about whilst outside my window it’s pouring down with rain. Dreaming of sunny beaches, ice cream, sun cream and ‘Yikes, I’d best go on a diet now so I’m ready for it.’ My mother has taken this to the extreme bless her and during December’s nightmare snowfall that had us all shovelling heaps of snow from our doorstep, she called to tell me she’d booked a winter break for her and her husband.

‘Oh, how lovely!’ I said whilst thinking – wish we could! ‘Where are you going?’

‘The Maldives, darling! Well we were getting so depressed looking out at all that snow that we just had to book something.’

‘Very nice too mum!’

So whilst the Maldives are a long way off for me and my brood, there are plenty of other opportunitues around for us to enjoy in the meantime, which brings me to today’s idea. Having an extensive knowledge of Italy after almost 20 years there and then having worked for the Italian Tourist Board in London too I am going to focus on one resort each week and tell you everything I know about it, if I’ve been there I shall show you my photos (promise not to bore you!) and being a lover of good wine and food I shall tip you off as to what to order where because Jamie Oliver was perfectly right when he did his Italy program, what they eat in one region will not be offered in another.

Italy is divided into 20 regions, each has its own USP (Unique Selling Point – I’m just trying to be clever) the peninsula offers, sea, country and mountains and has a 12 month tourism industry. Its capital and most of its major cities are renowned for their art, culture, history and beauty and the country has so much to offer that it’s a struggle to know where to start.

Should we start with the ski resorts? As they’re enjoying a bountiful season and I’d eat my blog to get some skis on now and whizz down a couple of pistes – oh the good old pre-twin days! Or should we start with city breaks? There are so many of them and each one  more interesting than the last…Rome? Venice? Florence? Trento? Or how about the beaches as we’re sitting in the cold and dreaming of warm, barmy sunny evenings, a glass of chilled wine and a nicely coming on sun tan.

After much thought, I have decided on a 1st post on Sardegna, or rather a part of it – The North of the island where I spent my First Italian holiday and my last before moving back to the UK and funnily enough where we are booked to go this year.

Of course, we all love a little general information to read before deciding and many of your questions can be answered on the ITB web site so please look out for My Italy posts in the future, Sardegna coming this week.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. romana permalink
    31/01/2011 2:51 pm

    my dear! what a beautiful places.. see http://www.folgariaski.com .. very sunny this week! snow and a brend new beauty center.. swimming pool and ice-skatting .. we are waiting for you! kisses

  2. 02/02/2011 8:29 am

    Looking forward to reading your posts on Sardegna. It’s where I live. Check out my blog.

    • 04/02/2011 3:56 pm

      I did and I mentioned you too, love your blog and intrigued by all your travelling 😀

  3. 09/02/2011 8:24 pm

    Great idea: I’ll look out for your posts! I’ve only been to Rome, & it quickly became my favourite world city, – apart from sneaking over the border from Switzerland on a lake.

    • 10/02/2011 1:18 pm

      Check you out James Bond, sneaking over the border indeed…I have a good mind to tell the authorities 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Sardegna – Holidays in Italy « Mari's World

Leave a Reply

