Skip to content

I Heart Me Monday #5 – How do you blog?

07/02/2011

How do I blog? – Good question. How do I do it and do I really want to stop and ask myself?

Well actually, yes I do as blogging has become a very important part of my life. It has become a valid outlet for me to connect with the outside world, to write more and better (hopefully), to meet people and connect.

I have to squeeze my blogging time into various moments throughout the day, usually when the girls are having a quiet moment which annoyingly for me is less and less, afternoons seem to be good writing times, they’re on the sofa watching CBeeBies and I can tap away for a while with no  relatively little distraction, if they happen to nap I’m on a roll!

Here is what I struggle with regards to blogging:-

  1. I’m not as good as I’d like to be in getting back to comments left on my blog, although I appreciate every single one  as they give excellent direction. My problem is time, I just need more of it. Please, please don’t be offended if I don’t get back to you, I’ve just caught up in real life!
  2. Again time is needed to visit all the lovely bloggers who do take the time to comment and some weeks I just run out of time and therefore don’t get back to everyone. I would like to change this, maybe when the girls start pre-school I’ll be more organised…
  3. I hardly ever go back and edit posts and again this is because of lack of time. There are loads of mistakes, including my 1st Jan post where I actually got the year wrong! I was suffering a major hangover if that’s any excuse? That is still on my To Do list 😀
  4. I hardly ever make it on to Twitter which is a brilliant place to promote your blog and get ‘seen’ raising the number of readers, interacting with the other bloggers (I’d love to have more time to do this!) Again hopefully when the girls start pre-school I’ll be miraculously freed and can devote more time *sigh*

Here’s some tips on how I keep the posts coming.

  1. When I get ideas and they can be none for days and then a major brainstorming session, I write them down in a notebook and come back to them. Sometimes I may leave them – maybe they don’t feel right on revisiting, sometimes I may elaborate on them and detour from the initial idea but on the whole it works for me.
  2. A more detailed post, I start as a draft and keep going back to it until I feel it’s right. A perfect example of this is the My Italy posts. I start with initial ideas and then add to it through the week and hopefully don’t forget anything majorly important!

If you are interested in blogging I would advise this  E-course written by Erica, a mummy blogger herself. She has gone through all aspects from start-up right through to gaining more readers and moving on to higher levels. It’s written in an easy to grab manner and is full of fantastic advice another important mention  – it’s Free and arrives weekly in your inbox. What are you waiting for? Go and subscribe and get yourself started up now. I keep going back to mine frequently as it’s a hive of information.

So there you go, that is How I blog, I’m linking up with Notes to Self Plus Two, a brilliant mummy blogger, check her out and see what other tips have been put forward, maybe they’ll convince you to join in too. Please make sure you let me know if you do start-up as I’d love to see what you’re up to.

Technorati claim – RPGFCABEXP7V

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 07/02/2011 11:54 am

    Don’t be so tough on yourself, blogging for you now is perfect for your life as it is now with smalls at home. I think anyone who can blog with a family is doing it just as they should be, whether daily or just once a month. We spend our lives thinking how we can be “better”. Great for self improvement but sometimes we need to give ourselves a break. Don’t worry too much about reply comments or commenting at all. They are a lovely bonus but truthfully, who has time to do that all the time?

    Some great tips too, thanks.

    MD x

    • 07/02/2011 1:29 pm

      Thanks for that, I do worry that other bloggers ‘see’ me as a waste of time when I don’t get back to them and I find myself constatnly apologising and blaming the girls 🙂 Poor little things eh? Better times will come I’m sure

  2. 07/02/2011 1:22 pm

    I’ve taken to subscribing by email to all the blogs I want to read regularly, found it easier than trying to use Google reader etc and they’ll just pop up in my inbox when posted. Agree on the commenting piece though, great to get them, I try and at least say thanks. Then people know that you have read them.
    I find it’s feast or famine with ideas so make sure to have some regular items e.g. the gallery to keep me posting something and most times doesn’t take much thinking about.

    • 07/02/2011 1:28 pm

      Ah! Of course, I do the subscription too as I’m useless with Google reader and yes I also take part in a few regulars that I enjoy such as The Gallery, Silent Sunday, Alphabe Thursday and so on. Thanks for coming by 🙂

Leave a Reply

