Skip to content

Have you read anything interesting lately?

25/02/2011

Following on from yesterday’s post where I mentioned the lack of time I have had over the past two years for indulging in one of my favourite pastimes – reading, I thought I’d go one further and show you just half of the books waiting to be read. A few I have bought myself as they are of favourite authors, a few have been passed to me by mum, Nan, my sister-in-law Tracey (devourer of books) and others I have discovered during the house move having been put somewhere ‘safe’ until I had time. If I had a pound for everything I had put in a ‘safe place’ and then promptly lost I’d be a millionaire but I digress.

You see the top book in my photo is The Outcast by Sadie Jones and has been in and out of at least three suitcases, has been dusted off on more than one occasion and has even moved house and not been completed BUT with only a 100 odd pages to go I’m already on the lookout for my next culprit, who I would like to believe I will finish at least by the end of this year!

In an ideal world I would like to have them all read, plus the other pile I haven’t photographed (they’re all in ‘safe places’!) and others too by the end of the year but I must be honest with myself. I Don’t Have The Time. This is why actually coming to the end of a good book (it has been an excellent read) I’m excited enough to share it with you! This is the girl who could do at least a book a week on the commute into London. The girl who would pack at least four books to take away on a two-week holiday for ‘By The Pool’ moments or ‘On The Beach’. The expat who ordered 10 books at a time from Amazon and learnt to read in Italian so she could feed the need to read.

Yes, my life is definitely missing something when I can’t lose myself in a good story when I can’t visualise myself as the heroine, the victim, the lover, the cheater, the wild one (every now and then). I believe a healthy brain needs nurturing with words and now the girls are getting that little bit more independent I’m getting my books ready to hand.

Tell me what I’ve been missing. What are absolute must reads for you that I should be adding to my pile?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Alessandra permalink
    25/02/2011 4:21 pm

    There’s a good deal of great books around so it’s not so easy to pick and choose but recent MUST READ books have been:

    Room by Emma Donoghue: the story is narrated by the voice of a 5 five year old and the novel is different, moving, sad, uplifting, tender, funny, heart wrenching,cruel, horrifying in turns. A masterpiece.

    The Dead Fathers’ Club by Matt Haig: again the narrator is a slight older boy (about 10 or 11) who finds himself in a situation that makes him a modern Hamlet. The language and perspective are very interesting because they are is not that of an adult.

    Cloud Atlas by David Mitchell: not an immediately easy book, you have to work at it a bit. But if you stick it out, you discover one of the most rewarding novels I have read in recent times.
    The structure, the language, the different registers and genres, the twists and mirror construction of the book and the moral of the story are great.

    Cloud Atlas is a brilliant novel. Cloud Atlas consists of six different stories that march forward, and then backward, through time. It is put together with almost clockwork precision in its exploration of several themes, many of which boil down to the duality of good and evil that exists within man and mankind. You will not read another book like it, and you will be absorbed by its genius that suddenly makes an idea leap off the page with a clarity of purpose that catches you by surprise.

    Atonement: forget the film and frowning pouting Keira Knightley; this is Ian McEwan at his very best; savour every word and image in this great read.

    Happy reading!

  2. 25/02/2011 8:12 pm

    I don’t know what’s gotten into me, but I’ve been reading like a famished fiend. I’m actually keeping track on my blog and have a page for books I want to read and books I’ve already read. I never really thought I had much time either but I just keep the book in my purse and I find I have more time than I may have thought. I recently read the Percy Jackson series because my son got into it and had a great time with it. I also loved Wicked and The Girl who Played with Fire. Right now, I’m reading the super creepy The Passage about virus generated vampires.

Leave a Reply

