Skip to content

The Gallery – Body Parts and Happy Blogversary to Mari’s World

12/01/2011

Yayyyyy! Tara’s back after a Crimbo break and she’s decided to be difficult, she’s given us the prompt Body Parts…bit macabre if you ask me, wonder how many horrors she watched over the festive season? So on the first and only sunny day of this year I dragged the family outside in the back garden for some fresh air and to discuss what we’re going to do with our garden that looks so forlorn and unkempt.

I mentioned to Other Half about the prompt on Body Parts and he looked at me with a wicked glint in his eye. Blokes eh? *raises eyebrows*

‘No! I don’t want to photograph that.’ I said, so he turned around and offered me his backside. ‘No I don’t want that, show me the palm of your hand.’

Speak to the hand

 

Years back, in my twenties, I was fascinated with palm reading and I even had my palm read by a gypsy in Broadstairs. She lived in what can only be described as a shop front cum beach hut as it was the first on the promenade. I had just finished my B/TEC Hotel Management course and I was bursting to know what my future held in store. I know I was scared out of my pants but so very curious at the same time. She told me lots of things and clever me, I wrote them down on a piece of paper in the cafe’ opposite whilst reliving the experience with my college friend Jim, who had accompanied me with a wry smile and that odd look blokes have when they don’t get what we’re doing.

Fate would have it, that over the years, my memory fails me and I lost the piece of paper with all my moving around. However, I do know she said I would marry abroad, that the marriage would fail, that I would become a mother (can’t remember how many children she said I would have – let’s hope she said four eh?) and that I would be wealthy.

Well that bit still hasn’t come true so I’m banking on 2011 to be my year, I continue to play the National Lottery and the Euro Lottery, even the millionaire’s raffle will do for me or the unthinkable….I finish writing my book, it gets published, I am massively rich and acclaimed in the writing world….it was just a thought, just a dream.

What does her future hold in store?

Show me your hands girls

 

And lastly before you go, today I am celebrating ONE whole year of blogging, so step inside have some cake, the kettle is on and enjoy five minutes before you dash back off to your world. I confess to not making this cake myself, you know time and all that malarkey but Pink Cake Box said I could have this one! Enjoy xxx

1st Birthday Cake with Cupcakes

31 Comments leave one →
  1. 12/01/2011 10:28 am

    Lovely pictures and lovely story.

    And happy anniversary of your blog! xx

  2. 12/01/2011 2:23 pm

    I LOVE that picture of your girls, they are gorgeous! You can tell a lot about a person from their hands.

    I am presently raising my teacup to toast to your one year of blogging (sadly out of cake and brandy, so just tea), making this is a one-handed type. A year sounds most impressive to me–I’ve only weathered several months, and am already stuck for ideas.

    Such a lovely blog–keep up the good work for many years to come!
    ~M

    • 14/01/2011 3:13 pm

      Thank you and thank you again. I agree you can tell a lot from people’s hands in fact OH has lovely hands, kind hands. I love your blog too and I have moments when I’m stuck for ideas too, in fact sometimes I wonder if I’m writing a load of tut that no ones inetersted in at all but at least it keeps me busy

  3. 12/01/2011 2:48 pm

    Lovely pics, the girls are so lovely (I did BTEC H&C man too! O & HND – I can still burn food and do so regularly….)

    • 14/01/2011 3:14 pm

      Wow, a fello BTECer! There are quite a few of us around, nice to see you over here

  4. 12/01/2011 3:57 pm

    Happy Blogversary !! you have the funnest blog EVER !! :D… love the picture of the girls !!

    • 14/01/2011 3:15 pm

      Thank you Shafeena, I must pop over and see you soon, I’ve just been busy tidying up a lot of loose ends, hopefully now I’m back on track though 🙂

  5. 12/01/2011 4:03 pm

    Great story. Loving all the kiddie hands I keep seeing.

    • 14/01/2011 3:16 pm

      Innocence, cuteness, chubbiness and complete trust in you. that’s what makes them so adorable

  6. 12/01/2011 4:17 pm

    Happy blogversary!! 😀 well done you 🙂

    • 14/01/2011 3:17 pm

      Thank you. It does feel like quite an achievement to be honest…who’d have thought a year ago it would lead to this?

  7. 12/01/2011 4:58 pm

    Happy Blogversary! I hope your wealthy prediction comes true this year.

    I had a palm reading once. I can’t remember a lot but I think I was told I’d marry a farmer. Hmmm…. (he’s a welder!)

    • 14/01/2011 3:18 pm

      Thank you! I do hope it comes true, I dreamt my numbers which must mean something. REf palm readign, some are very good others are charlatans, like most things that aren’t palpable I suppose. good to see you

  8. 12/01/2011 7:37 pm

    what great photos. I particularly like the baby hand 🙂

  9. 12/01/2011 8:55 pm

    Love the pics and the story, happy anniversary 🙂 Jen

  10. 12/01/2011 9:15 pm

    Happy Blogversary 🙂
    Funnily, I’ve been trying to read my palm lately….desperate to be given some good news! I was once told by someone that I would be very famous and do something good in the world like Mother Theresa! We’ll see. 😉
    Lovely pictures as usual. x

    • 14/01/2011 3:21 pm

      Ohhhh, now that’s interesting, I wonder what that could be? I’d love to get my palm read again too just because I am so curious 🙂

  11. 12/01/2011 9:34 pm

    Great story there and happy Blogaversary!
    It’s funny I have seen a few hands today as part of this theme, I think we forget how much we do with them and how much we rely on them!
    Lovely post and photos x

    • 14/01/2011 3:22 pm

      *waves* hello Jenny! I was staying clear of feet to be hnest and it’s too cold to get much else, nice to see you again

  12. 12/01/2011 10:13 pm

    Oh that last picture is just priceless!

  13. 13/01/2011 9:59 am

    Happy Blogversary!

    I had my fortune told when I was a teenager and a surprising number of things have come true.

    • 14/01/2011 3:23 pm

      It is strange isn’t it? I’d love to go back again but need to find a ‘good’ one. Thanks for coming by

  14. 13/01/2011 5:14 pm

    Keep blogging – keeps us in touch I too have had my fortune told ( many times over my many years ) Like you I wrote it down, unlike you I still have them. Some of it has come true some I’m still waiting for, especially the bit about coming into money, however money can’t buy us love – eh ? seems I’ve a long life line on my palm!!

    • 14/01/2011 3:24 pm

      Good and here’s to a healthy long life at that! Money can’t buy everything but it sure does come in handy at making life sweeter. I never would have thought of you as having your palm read! How fab, is she local to me? xx

  15. 17/01/2011 11:38 pm

    Ah – your twins: they’re cuties!

    And congrats on your 1st anniversary – I’m putting my hands together for you 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. The Gallery – Body Parts | Welcome to the World Esther and William

Leave a comment